The open plan office

The trend is clear: open-plan offices, divided into working, speaking and quiet zones, have replaced the cell structure with individual offices. Work is carried out in what is known as a multispace, in many places without a permanent workplace and flexible in terms of time. And even if economists regularly declare new forms of work to be the model of the future, the experts still agree on one point: a general return to the individual office is no longer to be expected.

There are three reasons for this: firstly, the cost pressure caused by a lack of space and rising property prices will continue to increase in the future. By switching to open-plan offices with work strategies such as desk sharing or home office, companies can reduce office expenses.

Second: The new architecture reflects new management and cooperation concepts. These are based on open communication, strong co-determination, cross-functional cooperation, more self-determination, trust and flexibility.

Thirdly, the development was only made possible by technological progress: mobility and digitization allow employees to access the data and information they need for work at any time and from anywhere. The office is becoming less important. With the move to open, multifunctional office landscapes, however, employees are confronted with new problems:

 

  1. noise

  2. individuality

  3. inequality

  4. privacy

  5. Exclusion

 

From our point of view, the most important and also the best approach is still that of individualizing the workplace. Despite the standardization and rasterization of the work zones, there should be space for individual concerns. Different tasks as well as different personalities require different approaches!

Interesting links on the topic:
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

© 2019 by brubaker design / all rights reserved

• Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

© 2013 by brubaker design / all rights reserved

Das Grossraumbüro

Die Tendenz ist eindeutig: Grossraumbüros, unterteilt in Arbeits-, Rede- und Ruhezonen haben die Zellenstruktur mit Einzelbüros abgelöst. Gearbeitet wird im sogenannten Multispace, vielerorts bereits ohne festen Arbeitsplatz und zeitlich flexibel. Und selbst wenn Ökonomen in regelmässigen Abständen immer neue Arbeitsformen zum Modell der Zukunft erklären, sind sich die Experten doch in einem Punkt einig: Mit einer generellen Rückkehr zum Einzelbüro ist nicht mehr zu rechnen.

Dafür gibt es drei Gründe: Erstens wird der durch Platzmangel und steigende Immobilienpreise entstandene Kostendruck in Zukunft weiter steigen. Durch den Wechsel hin zu Grossraumbüros mit Arbeitsstrategien wie Desksharing oder Homeoffice können Unternehmen die Büroausgaben senken.

Zweitens: Die neue Architektur widerspiegelt neue Führungs- und Kooperationskonzepte. Diese beruhen auf offener Kommunikation, auf starker Mitbestimmung, funktionsbereichsübergreifendem Kooperieren, auf mehr Selbstbestimmung, Vertrauen und Flexibilität.

Drittens wurde die Entwicklung durch den technologischen Fortschritt überhaupt erst möglich: Mobilität und Digitalisierung erlauben es Mitarbeitern, stets und von überall auf die zur Arbeit nötigen Daten und Informationen zuzugreifen. Das Büro verliert dadurch an Bedeutung. Mit dem Wechsel hin zu offenen, multifunktionellen Bürolandschaften werden die Mitarbeiter indes mit neuen Problemen konfrontiert:

  1. Lärm

  2. Individualität

  3. Ungleichheit

  4. Privatsphäre

  5. Ausgrenzung

Aus unserer Sicht ist der wichtigste und auch beste Ansatz immer noch der der Individualisierung des Arbeitsplatzes. Trotz Standardisierung und Rasterung der Arbeitszonen soll Platz für individuelle Anliegen da sein. Sowohl verschiedene Aufgaben wie auch verschiedenen Persönlichkeiten verlangen nach unterschiedlichen Lösungsansätzen!

Interessante Links zum Thema: